Saturday, 8 November 2014

Sleep No More

Sleep No More (Charlotte Westing Chronicles, #1)Title : Sleep No More (Charlotte Westing Chronicles # 1)
Author : Aprilynne Pike
Rating : 4.5 Stars!!!
Hardcover, 340 pages
Published April 29th 2014 by HarperTeen 
Source copy : HarperCollins
Synopsis :
The blockbuster film Inception meets Lisa McMann's Wake trilogy in this dark paranormal thriller from #1 New York Times bestselling author Aprilynne Pike. This novel is also perfect for fans of Kelley Armstrong, Alyson Noel, and Kimberly Derting.

Charlotte Westing has a gift. She is an Oracle and has the ability to tell the future. But it doesn't do her much good. Instead of using their miraculous power, modern-day Oracles are told to fight their visions—to refrain from interfering. And Charlotte knows the price of breaking the rules. She sees it every day in her wheelchair-bound mother and the absence of her father. But when a premonition of a classmate's death is too strong for her to ignore, Charlotte is forced to make an impossible decision: continue following the rules or risk everything—even her sanity—to stop the serial killer who is stalking her town.

Source : Goodreads


I can't close my eyes. Closing your eyes is a gesture of surrender.

New series of Aprilynne Pike's Charlotte Westing Chronicles generally delivered a mixture of Oracle, prophecies, tragedy and romance. The protagonist, Charlotte was instructed to hold back the "visions" she might see or encounter for this will change a whole lot of events. It may result for unwanted solutions and arise with another conflict. But in the midst of fighting the visions enveloping all her thoughts, she suddenly encountered a threat about a killer who may or may not be seem to be just an ordinary one.

This one of a kind killing spree novel is definitely astonishing. I do not mean the first sentence to show my sinister side but I am really fond of the idea of seeing the future and taking some chances to change it. Sleep No More does not only contains like that. The first book of Charlotte Westing Chronicles gives the readers on being present at the "current" state of the character and alternatively shifting into the "future" state. Aprilynne Pike didn't give so much to overreact her characters everytime they feel something very weird. Because when a character usually feels entirely different and the its a girl, chances are, they overreact or scream something out of the blue. There wasn't like a "swoosh" things or movements everytime Charlotte suddenly saw an Oracle. The shifting of one's mind to another event is simply enticing. It actually did feel like one of the events on the Inception movie.

The whole idea of unlocking the chains of the murderer is exquisitely unexpected. Although Charlotte is just a girl who is simply dictated not to interfere the Oracle, her innocence dragged her down to the pit. Aprilynne Pike created a prison sentence to the characters. They were all locked inside the bars of their agonizing pain. The characters were all determined to unlock and free themselves, whether it'll be a wicked or wise move, hell breaks loose, they are all reaching to control the Oracle whatever it takes. This is what totally gripped me out to the core. They have their own tactics to catch and kill each other while breaking what has been seen on the Oracle. That really did paid me a lot of attention to see how these will end up.

Aside from that, of course, it has a mix of romance, but it wasn't a mainstream lovestruck teenager thing. The emotional state of the characters is a bit complex since they were all battling with themselves and the Oracle as well. But I loved how in the middle of the killings within the area, Aprilynne Pike was able to execute the oddity and pain of falling in love.

For the readers who read her other previous series, this will be a new breath of air to them. I am entirely sure you'll love reading the Oracle of the protagonist, Charlotte! And to those who haven't read her other series, like me, you'll ultimately feel being dragged into this one, I swear. You'll even feel like starting her other books while *patiently* waiting for the sequel.

Sleep No More should be enlisted as your November to-read list. The murderous ways to kill someone is ultimately gripping and detailed which is highly interesting. Plus, the spotlight relies on the Oracle giving the characters to decide to change or let it move on. This book gives an unexpected plot.


 
Reactions:

0 comments:

Post a Comment