The Sky is Everywhere

The Sky Is EverywhereTitle : The Sky is Everywhere
Author : Jandy Nelson
Rating: 5 Stars!!!

Paperback, 277 pages
Published March 22nd 2011 by Speak (first published March 9th 2010)
ISBN : 0142417807 (ISBN13: 9780142417805)
 
Synopsis :

Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life - and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey's boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie's own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they're the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can't collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie's struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.


Source : Goodreads 

“Grief is forever. It doesn't go away; it becomes part of you, step for step, breath for breath.” 

The idea of Sky is Everywhere focuses on not just about grief and regret. It was created to shape and mold the mind of the people who left behind after someone's death. And the mother that they have created and accepted about what is true or false. The reality and the fictional stories that they have created when their mother left them.  Also, the kind of stories these characters have on their own creates a beautiful color to the story. There was a gray area in the beginning, like, "Where exactly is their mother?" or "How did Lennie's sister died?", those are one of the questions that rung on my head when I was reading it.

All throughout the story, Lennie who had a series of confusion with her feelings toward Toby and Joe. What comes on my end is that, how can she able to process all this when she was still grieving for her sister's death? The death of a loved one doesn't mean it marks to an end. In fact, it ignites another conflicts, circumstances and confrontations through all the characters. At first, it was a bit stagger on my end since there quite things that I cannot catch on Lennie. It was the kind of feeling when she falls in love and yet her heart tries to ignore it when she was still on a state of grief. But surprisingly, what stayed with me until the end was that Jandy Nelson folds the reality in a precise way.

The details were all interpreted and all sides of the characters were clearly spoken out. And even though they were all in pain about it, her characters did remain stable on the end. It was the acceptance of the pain they had that makes Sky is Everywhere a remarkable novel. This book definitely deserves all the award it can have.

Share:

3 comments

  1. I never bothered to check this book out before but now I'd really like to give it a read especially since I'm into books that involves grief and ending on a positive note. Great review! :)

    czai @ the Blacksheep Project

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You will never regret reading it! <3
      Followed you via GFC. :D

      Delete