Sunday, 2 March 2014

Maybe One Day

Maybe One DayTitle : Maybe One Day
Author : Melissa Kantor
Rating : 7 Stars!!! (Goodreads is only capable of 5 Stars though. *cries*)
Hardcover, 400 pagesPublished February 18th 2014 by HarperTeen
ISBN : 0062279203 (ISBN13: 9780062279200)


Critically acclaimed author Melissa Kantor masterfully captures the joy of friendship, the agony of loss, and the unique experience of being a teenager in this poignant new novel about a girl grappling with her best friend's life-threatening illness.

Zoe and her best friend, Olivia, have always had big plans for the future, none of which included Olivia getting sick. Still, Zoe is determined to put on a brave face and be positive for her friend.

Even when she isn't sure what to say.
Even when Olivia misses months of school.
Even when Zoe starts falling for Calvin, Olivia's crush.

The one thing that keeps Zoe moving forward is knowing that Olivia will beat this, and everything will go back to the way it was before. It has to. Because the alternative is too terrifying for her to even imagine.

In this incandescent page-turner, which follows in the tradition of The Fault in Our Stars, Melissa Kantor artfully explores the idea that the worst thing to happen to you might not be something that is actually happening to you. Raw, irreverent, and honest, Zoe's unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.


Source : Goodreads

"That's the thing about dying. Nobody knows how long it takes."

First, I'd like to give thanks to HarperCollins for giving me an ARC of this. THANK YOU SO MUCH. 

I know that I rated it more than 5 Stars, the highest rating of Goodreads, but I just can’t seem to rate it as 5. So I gave it a 7. I’ll give my very best explanation to justify what I felt when I was reading it.

Olivia and Zoe are just like one of the typical teens who dreamed on being extraordinary and reaching for it. I felt their immense friendship from the start. From the way they simply make plans on going on with life, growing old together, and have boyfriends, although these things are common ideas of every girl, I felt their passion to be something more than they used to. That’s the thing about Maybe One Day, even from the start, you can almost feel their friendship intertwine which will let your eyes drew even more to continue on reading it.

Melissa Kantor’s writing is brilliant. Everything is clear-cut but there is a mix of persuasion beyond it. Okay, actually it’s hard for me to describe the way she writes. So I think that is the best description I can give. Her characters are very deep and wonderful. Olivia, who is the soft-hearted but brave girl and there is Zoe the in-denial character who thinks that dancing doesn’t have a space on her heart anymore. Both of them are effortlessly magnificent. Not to mention Calvin, the character who speaks the true meaning of “fucking around”.

Another thing that I mainly love on Maybe One Day, it’s the way she wrote about the foundation of a family. Every member takes part of supporting Olivia and Zoe throughout their struggles. Even though Olivia went through in pain, they also felt Zoe’s pain in which they gave so much attention to bring them at ease.  It feels like there is a knot that will never be removed on their hearts. I loved how all of them hold up their pain just to be strong.

In the midst of their agony of the two teenagers,  Maybe One Day also brings an unexpected passion of the two characters to fall in love.  It really is amazing to read a book that gives it readers a spark of chance to fall in love even in the most troubled times of people. And also there are people who always make a way to understand each other.

It will let you feel how the characters shows how they are seriously cracked up with all the problems in life and even questioning God’s decisions at a young age. It makes me sad every time the characters feel they have nothing else to do than just to left it all fall down in front of them.

Maybe One Day gives me not just the idea of friendship and loss; it also gives me a clear sight of the ups and downs of leukemia patients. It doesn’t feeds it readers about leukemia like reading on usual medical textbooks references, the information are clearly provided that readers like me, swiftly went smooth throughout the story. On the bottom line, I keep on thinking how readers can bear the pain of losing someone very important with their lives. Because Maybe One Day creates a world full of happiness, pain and a never-ending friendship.  The characters will let you do the rest on your feelings, just read it. Just bring tissue. By all means, please bring a tissue while you were reading it.

I’d like to give thanks to Melissa Kantor for giving me another meaning of friendship and the strength to carry the unbearable pains in life.
Reactions:

0 comments:

Post a Comment