Tuesday, 3 February 2015

ARC Review : Red Queen

Red Queen (Red Queen, #1)Title : Red Queen (Red Queen Trilogy # 1)
Author : Victoria Aveyard
Rating : 5 Stars!!!
Hardcover, 320 pages
Expected publication: February 10th 2015 by Orion

Synopsis :


A thrilling new fantasy trilogy for fans of DIVERGENT and THE HUNGER GAMES.

The poverty stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers.

To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change.

Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the centre of
those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control.


But power is a dangerous game. And in this world divided by blood, who will win?

Source : Goodreads

"A soldier doesn't blink until the battle is won"

I am utterly spiked with Victoria Aveyard. This is my first description from my muddle-headed brain. Red Queen is one of the glorious and triumphant book everyone should read in this start of the year. If you're a fan of Leigh Bardugo's Shadow and Bone or even Game of Thrones, this is now your cue to grab a hold of this one.
Told by the perspective of the protagonist Mare, to be born in a world filled with injustice is not the a event. It is divided into two races, Red and Silver. Red means you are included in a family of slaves or peasants. The lowest of all. While Silver, just with the name itself that sparkles, this means you are the most fortunate human that ever been born. They are the people who had several abilities to control different elements such as water, fire, and wind. 

Although Mare can't have enough of what they had, given that she belong in a family of Red, I was absorbed with her little rebellion from the start. The author already showed a flicker of flame within Mare. The hard-bitten lady is willing to do anything to save her family and friends in dire situations. This means that if one of her friends were forced to fight on a bloodbath war, she's willing to fool and steal anything in exchange of saving them. Even if it takes as her being one of the servants of Silvers. It seems like an ordinary thing that a protagonists does in every book but the actions being taken in Red Queen is bloody hell fantastic.

The storyline centers Mare as soon as she entered the palace. Being controlled by the queen in order to save her family, she gradually learned the secrecy of the royalties, the weakness beyond their abilities, and the merciless pattern to kill what's stopping them. I was intrigued as to how these things were all plotted efficiently. From the fondness of the queen to Mare up to its devious plan to destroy them is definitely a page-turner kind of thing. For her as a Red who suddenly possess an ability that is much powerful from other Silvers, I loved the blankness she felt at first and her hesitation to believe if all of it were all real or not. But as I moved on with the story, it almost felt like she reached her final stroke in order to fend off the queen.

Another fascinating spell why I was drawn within Red Queen is the designation of the Houses of every Silvers. The idea of the Silvers belonging into a fixed faction is entirely flawless. The abilities that they showcase to each of them, their strong and weak points were bizaare in way it looks polychromatic. 

Aside from that, of course, the two princes who are attached to Mare throughout the book. Cal and Maven are both daunting and hypnotizing to be frank. Both of them has their own methods to persuade people within their reach. And all I can say is that, you'll never see how beautiful yet monstrous as to how treachery and betrayal takes place anywhere.










Reactions:

0 comments:

Post a Comment